Mar 31 – Monthly Lesson

Tell us one thing you learned about yourself this month.

It’s interesting to be writing this post almost two weeks after the date of this prompt, because on this specific day, I found myself away on a work trip down on the coast. It was the first time that we’d been included in a work-trip such as this, so it was somewhat exiting and intriguing.

One of the best parts about this trip was the resort where we stayed. 5-star resort and I was fortunate enough to find myself in one of the most incredible rooms I’ve ever stayed in. It was absolute heaven. The room was also one of the few rooms that actually had a balcony, with a view overlooking the resorts’ golf course, and then looked out to the ocean.

I really did enjoy being in an environment such as this – and it’s a place that I would certainly come back to of my own accord in the future, but in the context of this work trip, it was nice to just be out of an office environment, and actually get to spent time with, and speak to other work colleagues.

The one thing that really hit home for me though, was a realisation of just how much I miss being around water. Given that my star sign is Scorpio, it’s also a water sign, which creates a natural attraction to bodies of water… predominantly, the ocean. I love it. For me, there’s something quite therapeutic and healing about even just being near the water. But to actually be in the ocean, is something really special. Whilst we were there, I actually took an opportunity to go for a swim whilst we were there, and despite the water being incredibly cold, it was quite a liberating moment for me.  I was there by myself, enjoying this moment of peace, serenity and pure happiness. The morning that we left, I got up quite early to go for a swim. I knew that the water was going to be cold, but I really didn’t let that deter me at all. I wanted to make the most of this rare opportunity.

Watching the sun rise over the ocean was an amazing (and freezing) experience, but one I’ll never forget. For a moment, I felt so completely alone. It was a moment of solitude, and a moment I’ve never experienced before. Being neck deep in refreshing icy-cold salt water was incredible in itself, but when you’re all alone with your thoughts and the beauty of nature, it can become quite overwhelming, and a realisation that almost brought me to tears.

As I walked away from the beach, I realised that I need to have more moments like this in my life.

Without a doubt – I need to.

Leave a comment