Day 14 – First Friend

Tell us about your first friend.

My first friend that I can recall was a boy called Caine? Or was it Kaine? His mum was really good friends with my mum and I think I was about 4 or 5 at the time. We lived around the corner from each other, and Caine’s mum would look after me after school until mum finished work. 

We were best friends and were always doing everything together. If I wanted to go to the park, I wanted Caine to come as well. If we were going to the movies, I was always asking if Caine could come with us. Or, I was always asking if Caine could come over and play, or if I could go over to his place to play.

I remember the day I found out that they had moved away. I remember how hurt and upset I was that nobody told me they were moving away, until the day they actually left. I remember mum and I going over there and I remember giving Caine and his mum the biggest hug. 

I never saw them again 😦

A couple of months passed and I remember mum getting a postcard from Debbie. They were somewhere in the Northern Territory (in Australia, for all you international readers), and then shortly after that, another postcard (or maybe it was a letter with some photos?) from a place called Katherine Gorge. It looked simply beautiful. 

I always wondered what happened to them. When Facebook was introduced to the world, I tried to find out whether or not they were on FB, but couldn’t find them. Even if I did find them, what would I say, exactly? ‘oh hi, remember me, we were besties about 25 years ago…’. 

No. I will not be one of those people. If anything, I’d Facebook stalk them and just check out their photos and leave it at that.

 

Leave a Reply

