Daily Prompt – Teenage Idol

Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

I never really idolised anybody when I was a teenager… instead I just wanted to meet them and be friends with them. Is that weird?

When I was sixteen I wanted to be a dancer for so many recording artists, but mainly Janet Jackson. I knew that it would only ever be just that – a dream, but no harm in dreaming big. I also wanted to dance for Britney Spears… well, until she released Sometimes and then I kinda went off her for a while.

I always wanted to meet The Spice Girls. My favourites were Ginger Spice (Geri Halliwell) and Sporty Spice (Mel C). Truth be told I watched their Live In Istanbul concert on VHS that many times I broke the tape and had to buy another copy. Being a dancer and having a ‘dancer brain’ I manage to pick up choreography quite quickly and I was always dancing around my bedroom watching that concert. Even now, whenever I hear one of those songs pop up on iTunes I bust out some of the moves from the concert 😉

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/teen-age-idol/

Leave a Reply

