Daily Prompt – Going Obsolete

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

In terms of technology, there really isn’t much from my lifetime that has become extinct, instead technology has grown and evolved.

I sometimes miss some of the computer games that I used to play on my Commodore 64 or on my Amiga. Especially this one game called New Zealand Story… it was one of my absolute favourite games to play.

There is, however, one thing that I do miss, although it’s not actually extinct, and that’s the simplicity of writing a letter. By hand.

The way that technology and society has evolved, the concept of a handwritten letter is almost non-existent. The way that we communicate with each other is through digital mediums like email, sms, and Facebook. I can’t even remember the last time I actually posted somebody a letter. Maybe my mum… about 8 or 9 years ago.

Even now, abilities to video-call people negates the need to write them an email. It’s much faster to say what you want to say than it is to write a letter, moreso if you can say it face-to-face, or at least face-to-face via video chat.

Maybe I should make a point of starting to do that. Maybe I should start writing people actual letters… taking a step back from Facebook for a while. Getting back to basics by writing letters and making phone calls?

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/

Leave a Reply

