Daily Prompt – A Tale of Two Cities

If you could split your time evenly between two places, and two places only, which would these be?

In a fantasy world where money is no object, I’d say something ridiculously obnoxious like, ‘oh I don’t know, I wouldn’t mind spending my summers on the yacht in the Hamptons, and the winters at our Chalet in Aspen’ but the reality is, I’d need to actually go to either of those places FIRST before I could make comment.

Besides, I’d no doubt hate every minute of it, because I’d be constantly surrounded by wealth-self-obsessed wankers who all think the world revolves around them. I’d probably snap and go on a murder spree.

If I could, I would just split my time between two places where it’s warm… and coastal. Somewhere where I could swim at a beach all year round, whether it’s a place here in Australia and somewhere overseas, I really wouldn’t care. I just want to be near the ocean.

The reality is though, I’ll never be able to afford to split my time between two cities. Ideally, I’d love to have a holiday house somewhere either coastal (again, near the beach) or rural – I’m talking farming country; rolling hills of lush greenery etc. If I was more pro-active (and I guess, single) then I’d want to be spending long weekends at my getaway house so I can just switch off; go ‘off the grid’ – no phones, no internet. Just me and my laptop so I can write.

Oddly enough, even now, more than 15 years after my mum sold the house in the country, I’d still want to buy it back. There was something magical about that house. I still often find myself thinking about it; wishing I could go back there; wishing we still owned it so I could take a week or so off at a time throughout the year and just go back there to de-stress, analyse my life, refocus and re-centre.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-tale-of-two-cities/

Leave a Reply

