Daily Prompt – Antique Antics

What’s the oldest thing you own? (Toys, clothing, twinkies, Grecian urns: anything’s fair game.) Recount its history — from the object’s point of view.

This has made me realise that I don’t necessarily own much that is sentimental or antique-y. I think the oldest thing that I own is probably my baby cup and baby spoon.

And truth be told, I’m not actually sure I know why I own them. They’re old and tarnished and really, quite silly and very poxy. It’s in the same league as those giant novelty keys people get given for their 21st birthdays. I never understood those either, all I do know is they they are just cringe-worthy, and I told both my parents that if they even thought about getting me one of those and planning some kind of big 21st celebration in order to publicly humiliate me, I’d just as quickly disown them and never speak to them again.

I do like the thought of having a couple of antique items, but they would have to be stand alone pieces, but in saying that, do I really want / need more stuff??

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/antique-antics/

Leave a Reply

