Daily Prompt – Verbal Ticks

Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

This is quite interesting, because somebody once pointed out one of my verbal ticks, and it made me stop and realise just, like, how, like, fucking stupid, I, like, sounded.

So, like, yeah, like, I used to, like, say, like, like all the time, and like, didn’t, like, realise it. Okay, okay, I’ll stop now, because even I Want to punch myself in the mouth right now. It was actually my Aunty who called me out on it. I was in my early twenties and I was staying at their place in he he country for a few days, or a week or something, and it must have said it quite a lot, because she then started saying it as well, and it realised just how fucking annoying and obnoxious it sounded. I think within a couple of days I had stopped saying it, because I had become so incredibly self conscious of speaking and saying that word so repetitively, I couldn’t stand it any longer.

Now, when I hear other people talking like that, I just want to punch them in the mouth. It drives me fucking crazy. I can’t handle it. I think because I recognised it within myself, now, I recognise it with others and I just want to bitch slap them and tell them to snap the fuck out of it.

…and don’t even get me started on thz who abrvt al thr wrds lk ths.

Nowadays, I just say fuck all the time.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/verbal-ticks/

Leave a Reply

