Daily Prompt – Favourite Mistake

Is there a mistake you’ve made that turned out to be a blessing — or otherwise changed your life for the better? Tell us all about it.

I’ve been sitting here for about 45 minutes, racking my brain trying to think of something actually worth writing about… and the only thing that I can think of is this one day I was late for work…

I had slept in this one particular day, and began the day frantically racing around the house in order to get ready for work. I already knew that I was going to be late, because it was already 8am and would take at least an hour for me to get to work.

So this one day, I am just walking out the front gate, and I see my tram go flying past the end of the street. I race down to the corner to see if it’s still there, but it’s too late and I’ve missed it. This now means another 10-15min wait for the next tram. It’s bad enough that I’m freaking out about being late, 15mins pass and still no tram. Instead I walk down to the bus stop and catch a bus instead, but we only get two blocks and the traffic completely stops moving. I call work to tell them that the bus is stuck in traffic, and I’m not sure what time I’ll get there. After waiting for another 15 mins and not moving, a few people, including myself, decide to get off the bus and walk.

So we start walking and about 10 mins later, we get towards St Kilda Road (which is a major road in Melbourne) only to discover that the tram has collided with another vehicle as it’s turned, crushed the vehicle, and come off the rails. By the time we had gotten there, police and paramedics were already on the scene treating the wounded, but were also conveniently within the same block of the hospital. People on the tram were injured, there was glass all over the road, it was just a big ol’ mess.

I’m just thankful that I was running late and missed that tram, otherwise who knows what could have happened to me. The side that collided with the vehicle was the side of the tram that I would generally stand on – away from the incoming / outgoing passengers, so it’s quite probable I would have been seriously injured, as a number of people were. Thankfully nobody was killed. I’m just glad that I was running late.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/favorite-mistake/

Leave a Reply

