Daily Prompt – It’s Your Party

Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

I don’t really celebrate my birthday. For me it’s not really much of a big deal – it never really has been.

When I was a kid, I remember that my birthday really only meant one thing – a day off school. As I got older, this also meant a day off work, but even that has lost most of it’s appeal.

It also usually meant spending the day with mum and doing something special like going to the movies or the theatre and buying some new clothes. Because we didn’t really have much money when I was a kid, birthdays and special occasions were the only times we usually did things like this. I guess it just made things that much more meaningful and special, and I became so appreciative of moments like that.

As a teenager, my birthday was usually just a day for me to be self-indulgent – do what I want, eat what I want… Sleep for most of the day, or spend the whole day at the cinemas watching back-to-back movies etc. I’ve never really been one for a big party, especially a surprise party. I LOATHE surprises in general, let alone surprise parties. So there’s no way I’d ever have one. Some people really get into the notion of surprise parties, but I just can’t. I think it’s a control thing.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/its-your-party/

Leave a Reply

