18 Aug – Back To School

Back to school is right around the corner. Are you ready for another school year?

I’ve always been fascinated by the US school terms. The concept of having an entire 3 month break over summer is truly quite remarkable. I say this only because we have our educational terms structured as four distinct terms from Jan – Dec, with (usually) a two-week break between terms.

I used to love school holidays because it was all about sleeping in and hanging out with my friends… and then I got into my senior years of high school and that disappeared and was replaced with study.

Also not having kids means I don’t need to concern myself with anything related to going back to school.

Although, I will admit that when I was in school, I really did look forward to covering my books. When I was younger it was all about getting really cool adhesive book cover (aka ‘Contact’), usually something silvery / holographic. Then I went through a period of making my own covers – using magazine clippings, different letters from different fonts to spell out the subject; various pictures etc. I’d cover the book first in a layer of newspaper, then glue all the clippings on and then cover it all with clear contact.

I could just never work out how to avoid getting any bubbles under the surface.

One thought on “18 Aug – Back To School

Leave a Reply

