Daily Prompt – Off The Shelf

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

My problem is not the books that I want to re-read, but moreso the books that I’d like to actually read for the first time! 

See, I’m one of these people who is exceptionally time poor. Granted, that may have something to do with working two jobs, and sustaining a long-term relationship… but it could also have something to do with my expert procrastination skills.

I’m one of these people who went a little crazy a couple of years ago and went on a bit of a pursuit to buy a swag of books. And I got really excited about buying them, and was excited to begin reading them… but didn’t.

And now they’re on a shelf collecting dust.

And despite being completely aware of this behaviour of buying books and not reading them, I instead changed to buying e-books and downloading them to my iPad. So now I have an electronic collection of books that I have yet to read… but at least they don’t actually take up any physical space in a bookcase.

The first book that I really want to read is The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear. I remember coming across it whilst in a Borders store, and reading the back cover I was immediately intrigued, however, refused to pay whatever the price was at Borders, because I knew that I’d get it significantly cheaper online (which I did!) Coming in at just over 700 pages, it’s not exactly the sort of thing I’d be able to read in a couple of days, nor carry around too easily… although I’ve just had a look on the iBooks store, and it’s available as a book, or as an audiobook app.

Although, after looking at the reading times for each of the chapters in the iPad app… it’s a bit shameful that I can’t even find an hour of a day to listen to somebody tell me a story… but even then, I feel like audiobooks are slightly cheating, because you’re not actually doing any reading. It’s just like having mum sitting on the bed when I was a kid and reading me a bedtime story.

But Captain Bluebear is only one of a multitude of books I have that I want to eventually getting around to reading. In addition to the PS3 games that I want to start playing. And the novel I want to start writing. And the tv-shows that I need to catch up on… I need to take a few months off from life just so I can ‘catch up’!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/off-the-shelf/

Leave a Reply

