Daily Prompt – So Emotion. Very Cry.

Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry? Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

I have a really strong connection to my emotions at the best of times… it’s just that usually they’re repressed so far deep inside, I just tell people that I’m dead inside and void of emotion.

However, from time to time, I’ll hear a song / watch a movie / watch a tv show when I’m in a particularly emotional state, and I can completely lose it and end up a blubbering mess.

I’ve always been fascinated by the association between music and emotion – why is it that certain songs make you happy, whilst others make you sad. Even with instrumental pieces, some invoke feelings of joy and happiness and put a smile on your face or a spring in your step, whereas others conjure up feelings of sadness and despair, and just make you want to curl up and completely bawl your eyes out – sometimes for no reason whatsoever.

That’s the effect that music has on me.

On my iPhone, I have a folder of playlists called ‘Emotions’, and in that folder, a sublist of several different playlists with music for different emotions. One of them is just dance mixes when I want to get a bit energised, and other one is full of love songs. One is called Ballads, whilst another is called ‘Walk, Bitch’ for those moments when I just want to strut.

I realised that majority of all the songs in my Ballads playlist, all bring up memories of the past. The songs that I would listen to when I wanted needed to have a good cry. The songs that I listened to when I broke up with my ex. The songs that I listened to when my ‘friends’ would inevitably let me down. The songs I would listen to when I was missing my family. And almost every song ever featured on Grey’s Anatomy.

These are the type of songs that I have an incredibly strong connection to. And I think I always will. Some songs I can’t even listen to without my eyes welling up. So emotion. Very cry. Even if I have my entire music library on shuffle and I hear the first few bars of a particular song, I’m instantly back on my bed in the foetal position, having just been dumped ON MY BIRTHDAY!! Those kind of emotions are so haunting and I think will stay with me forever.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/moved-to-tears-2/

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – So Emotion. Very Cry.

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Making It Out Alive” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

