Daily Prompt – Upturned Noses

Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?

As much as I really don’t want to admit it, I have a tendency to be quite snobbish about a number of things…

Predominantly, I’m quite snobbish about restaurants that I eat at. If the tables aren’t cleaned to at least my minimum standards, then I’ll suggest we go somewhere else, or I’ll just suck it up and deal with it. Last couple of times I’ve asked to have a table cleaned, it was like asking the wait staff to just cut off a couple of fingers – consequently, the service was horrible, so I generally don’t bother asking. I’d rather sit at a dirty table (if I have to) rather than have some rude bitch potentially spit in my food or serve me dead rodents ‘chicken’.

I’ve also noticed how snobby I am in terms of locales – before actually moving over here, I wouldn’t even dream of setting foot in the western suburbs, and yet here I am. Granted, I’m still finding that even living where I do, I’m snobby about other western suburbs – they still have a bad reputation, and when you have news reports about house fires, car accidents and stabbings in broad daylight, it certainly doesn’t help.

I’ve particularly noticed that over the past couple of years, I’ve developed more of a social conscience, and as a result I’ve started phasing out cosmetics ie shampoo, moisturiser, body wash etc that do animal testing and contain nasty petrochemicals. And I’ve also made a conscious decision to only buy free range eggs because I end up feeling too guilty about supporting an industry that is inhumane. It’s the same reason that if I can ever live in a place that would allow me to have a puppy, I’d rescue one, rather than buy it from a pet store. Pet stores generally source all their puppies from horrific puppy-farms and they need to be eradicated. No animal should have to live in such conditions.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/upturned-noses/

Leave a Reply

