18 Nov – Kindness of Strangers

Tell us about one time that you benefitted from the kindness of strangers.

It was several years ago when I was working in legal recruitment.

I was out doing my usual rounds of delivering paperwork to various law firms regarding their hire-staff, and I was walking down a particularly windy laneway, and this huge gust of wind came roaring through the alley way. Chair and tables moved, some were even knocked over, outdoor umbrellas were either knocked over or caught the wind and flew away down the alley, and my last folder of papers went soaring.

I frantically scrambled to grab as many as I could, but a heap of them were tumbling down the alley way. I was fortunate that a group of people were leaving a cafe further down just at the same time, and they also all scrambled to help me collect my papers.

I got them all back, thankfully, however, they were all crumpled or dirty or had shoe prints on them, and I had to go back to the office to have them all re-printed. I called the office ahead to print them so they’d be ready by the time I returned, and I called the law firm to tell them what’s happened – the woman that I spoke to, also happened to get caught in the wind, and she told me she was humiliated as the wind blew her dress up and everybody saw her knickers.

Leave a Reply

