Daily Prompt – Calling Uncle Bob

Have you ever faced a difficult situation when you had to choose between sorting it out yourself, or asking someone else for an easy fix? What did you choose β€” and would you make the same choice today?

Surprisingly, I can’t recall being put in any situation like this. I stopped relying on other people a very, very long time ago, because I learnt at a rather young age that if you Strike that, I recall something.

I once found myself in a situation where I could get somebody to try and help me sort out a situation, but I decided that I needed to be an adult about it, and ended up making a decision that nobody saw coming.

Apart from shocking the person trying to help me, I think I shocked the person causing the situation a lot more, as well as myself. I made a decision, and to this day, eleven years on, I’ve stuck by it and never looked back.

I’d always been of the mindset that the only person you can truly rely on is yourself, and this had been proven to me time and time again, so I think that’s the major reason I’m so independent in life – not having to rely on others means I’m forced to take responsibility if it all turns to shit and I’m okay with that.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/calling-uncle-bob/

Leave a Reply

